Back to School!

Sorry I haven’t been posting a lot recently. I have a slew of half finished posts that will be finished very soon. Anywho, my lack of posts is due to the start of school and all the chaos that comes with it. Most likely any students reading this have not started the new term yet, as my school is the only one I know of with such a strange schedule. Which leads me to my point: back to school shopping. It is super fun, yes, but also very overwhelming here are 10 tips to make this process/ordeal/fun trip easier on your sanity.

1. Look through your closet- What do you need? If you really don’t need another graphic T-shirt, then don’t get one. It may not be as fun, but you and your wallet will thank you later.

2. Know Yourself- Some people may be able to buy a new sweater and wait a month or two to wear it, but others like myself want to wear fall clothing in 100 degree weather. If you are anything like me, wait till later to buy your winter/fall clothing and just get some things to look nice in the first few days of school.

3.  Make a Plan- some people like shopping and others don’t. Regardless which one you are, being on your feet all day and braving the large crowds (that seem to gather at clothing stores this time of year) is really demanding. So figure out which stores you and anyone else going with you want to go to and in which order you will go to them.

4.  Bring a Friend!- It’s more fun to shop in bulk with someone who can give you opinions on your clothes, not to mention it’s a good excuse for a day out. 🙂

5.  Dress Appropriately- You don’t have to wear sweats or anything, but wear stuff that’s easy to put on and take off. It’s a darn pain to try and put back on five layers of clothing after trying on one top. You should also wear shoes that slip on and off easily, but bring socks in case you try on any trainers.

6. Eat Well Away From the Mall- The title pretty much says it all. But to elaborate, the lines in the food court will be reeeeally long and I guarantee your stomach will give you away to your fellow shoppers.

7. L00ove Your Body- To start off with an anecdote, this year when I went school shopping I was dismayed to discover that I had gone up an entire size! I tried in every store to fit into a size 4 jean. Needless to say, this did not go over very well and by the end of the day I was resigned to a new pants size. Don’t Be Me! Accept yourself as you are. I’m not telling you to quit the gym or never eat the oh-so-hated veggies. But as I have discovered obsessing over the small stuff just makes you stressed and unhappy.

8. Buy What Looks Good On You- “Beauty is about finding the right fit, the most natural fit.”-Aphrodite. Even if you like something a lot, be realistic about whether you like it on you. There are many different body types and depressing as it is no one looks good in everything, and nothing looks good on everyone. :/

9. Be Nice to Your Wallet- Don’t shy away from thrift stores! It’s not as if you are forced to buy anything, but you may find some cool stuff. Also, do something like mow lawns or babysit before hand, so you don’t go entirely broke.

10. Save Some Money for Actual School Supplies!- Remember your priority is the education part of school and not(as tempting as it might be) the fashion. Think of how many pencils, pens, bookcases, etc. you will need. In addition, if you are buying a new bag keep in mind the amount of binders and books you will be toting around. My Darwin Awards radar goes off when I see girls with small book bags almost doubled over carrying books or just not doing there homework because they don’t want to and it doesn’t look good.

-ttfn Satsuki

About SatsukiZingg

Hey there you! Nice to meet you! My name is Satsuki Zingg. I was born and raised in a small town in the Central Valley of California and am the daughter of an almond/walnut farmer. I am...well, I am an interesting person. My absolute favorite colour is orange, I love the words "via", "debacle", and "oscillate", and if it was legal to own a slow loris, I would. This list could just go on and on, and since I'm not especially good at the About Me things, this is where i must say au revoir! :)

Posted on September 4, 2011, in BAck, Diary, Fun, Groovy, School, shopping. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Go ahead and leave a comment. I want to hear your thoughts!

