Groovy Ottoman: Hope Chest

A while back, I bought a very cool, very retro ottoman that was in need of some refurbishing. This has become my latest project .Word to the wise, while I had thought I got a great deal on this ottoman I was soon to find out that second hand upholstered items are a little more costly than the original price. My ottoman was $13 at the hope chest, the fabric and other materials for reupholstery were $35, and the batting and foam(an unexpected cost due to mold and old cigarette smell: gross!) were about $35. The whole ottoman ended up costing $83, which is about how much you would pay for a new ottoman without the cost for custom upholstery. So in the end I’m not sure if I saved money or not, but I now have a super groovy ottoman. Here are some pics of pre-awesome upholstery, during the project, and the after I finished. Can you dig it? 🙂  (Post your opinion or comment below. I want to hear from you!)

-ttfn Satsuki

About SatsukiZingg

Hey there you! Nice to meet you! My name is Satsuki Zingg. I was born and raised in a small town in the Central Valley of California and am the daughter of an almond/walnut farmer. I am...well, I am an interesting person. My absolute favorite colour is orange, I love the words "via", "debacle", and "oscillate", and if it was legal to own a slow loris, I would. This list could just go on and on, and since I'm not especially good at the About Me things, this is where i must say au revoir! :)

Posted on July 30, 2011, in Furniture, Groovy, Hope Chest, Nifty Thrifty. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Go ahead and leave a comment. I want to hear your thoughts!

